Central Coast Theatre
Follow on Twitter
13 November

13 November

Sounds of Musical Theatre

FRASER IN SILVER GULL PLAY AWARD S SHORTLIST: Central Coast writer, John AD Fraser, has again found himself as a finalist in the prestigious Silver Gull Play Awards this year, echoing success in the 2016 and 2018 finals. Frasers plays have been staged locally at Woy Woy Little Theatres Flash Festivals and Gosfords Uniting Productions Play Readings. There was a huge response to the Silver Gull Play Award this year, with over 50 plays submitted.

Displaying a wide variety of subject matter and a high standard of writing, the quality and originality of the submissions greatly impressed the judges. After much deliberation, a shortlist of six has been selected, with another two plays Highly Commended. The shortlist is: Off The Record by Chris Aronsten Sanctuary by Margaret Davis Cloudsurfing by John AD Fraser The Scammer by Wendy Lewis Fitson and Dan by Mark OFlynn The Other End of The Afternoon by Bokkie Robertson Highly commended: Identity Games by Christopher Bryant Television by James OLoghlin The judging panel comprises Annie Bilton (former Literary Manager, Griffin Theatre Co, Play Assessor, New Theatre), Louise Fischer (Artistic Director, New Theatre), Patrick Howard (freelance theatre-maker, Play Assessor, New Theatre), Victor Kalka (freelance director and designer), John Keightley (actor, Play Assessor, New Theatre), Sahn Millington (director, Play Assessor, New Theatre), Shan-Ree Tan (actor), Helen Tonkin (Artistic Associate, New Theatre),Tiffany Wong (actor, director, producer.

The shortlisted writers and winner will share in a total prize pool of $7,000, thanks to the generous sponsorship of The Buzz From Sydney. The winner will be announced on Tuesday 7 December. Established in 2015 and sponsored by The Buzz from Sydney, The Silver Gull Play Award is an important literary prize for new theatrical writing by a playwright resident in New South Wales.

A list of previous winners and shortlisted plays is located at the bottom of the page. Previous finalists and winners of The Silver Gull Play Award: 2015 Between the Streetlight and the Moon by Melita Rowston Furthest West by Michael Collins The Block Universe (Or So It Goes) by Sam OSullivan The Last Executioner by Mark Swivel TickTickBoom by Melissa Lee Speyer winner 2016 People Will Think You Dont Love Me by Joanna Erskine winner A Matter of Life and Death by John AD Fraser The Ink Trail by Louis Klee This, This Is Mine by Duncan Ragg I sat and waited but you were gone too long by Olivia Satchell 2017 The Bees Are All Dead by Kit Brookman Dead Wen by Elias Jamieson Brown For Unknown Reasons by Zoe Cooper winner A Spy in the House of Love by Zoe Hogan Human Activity by Katie Pollock The Blackbird and the Whale by Alison Rooke 2018 Disinhibition by Christopher Bryant Alabaster Burning by John AD Fraser People Inside Me by Katie Pollock Superheroes by Mark Rogers Lions and Tigers and Bears by Phillip James Rouse winner 2019 I Damo by Pauline Bleach The Deal by Kel Vance Breathless by Deborah Mulhall Son of Byblos by James Elazzi Field of Vision by Joanna Erskine winner 2020 Victim by Jeanette Cronin Gods Gruesome Shadow on The Wall by Kian Farzam The Scream by Justin Fleming Gods and Little Fishes by Jamie Oxenbould and Richard Sydenham winner The Park by Simon Thomson.

Disclaimer: News on Central Coast Theatre is an automated aggregation from a variety of local sources. News content does not reflect the opinions of this website. Central Coast Theatre does not warrant the accuracy or validity of News articles. Visitors should always check the News source for more details.

Related News